Citizen of the Year Grove

In 1990, as the city celebrated its first anniversary, the Rotary Club of Laguna Niguel spearheaded the project to recognize those community members who gave, unselfishly of themselves, to make Laguna Niguel a better place to live and work. The tradition continues today with a committee composed of past Citizen of the Year recipients.

The award is presented at the City’s Annual Volunteer Appreciation Dinner. Each person receiving this honor is awarded a plaque that is installed in front of a tree. The Citizen of the Year Grove was dedicated on September 25, 2005, and is managed by The Preserve.

Paul Whitlock

Carol & Amy David

Nancy Kurtz

Kathy Beaufort

Kathy Khalifa

David Weiss

Sue Bialek

Carole Allen

Ron Perrella

Jerry McCloskey
Dennis Mulvaney

Elaine Gennawey

Carlo Matero

Beverly Lee
David Graham

Darrell Burnett

Fredda Van Schmus

Mike Whipple

Donna Mulvaney

Dennis Harris

Janette & Jim Krembas
Robert Orozco

Barbara Speare
Bob & Linda Nelson

Gail Turner

Chris Alexander
Ed Bieschke

Rice Brown

Cheryl Moore
Don Beckenbaugh

Carole Bowman
Solveig Darner

What people say

“During my years being actively involved with the Preserve I have seen it grow literally and figuratively. Thousands of plants were planted, pathways constructed and Boy Scout and Girl Scout areas were developed. The Preserve is a real treasure in Laguna Niguel. I would like to acknowledge the City of Laguna Niguel for its generous support over the years and the many volunteers who made it all possible.”

Jerry McCloskey
Mayor of Laguna Niguel


City of Laguna Niguel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.